It’s not 4/20 yet, but many will find that cause for early celebration. New Jersey officially approved the start of adult marijuana sales on Monday.
Garden State residents voted to legalize recreational cannabis in 2020, but then the state had to put the system in place. In 2021, Governor Phil Murphy signed into law three bills allowing for the creation of a recreational cannabis industry, the legalization of cannabis use, and the decriminalization of possession. The laws also state where you can smoke weed, where you can grow it, and how it affects the police, among other policies.
Here’s our full analysis of how New Jersey’s weed laws work.
Now, probably starting in mid-May, adults in New Jersey will be able to purchase legal weed.
As an adult, you can buy dried flowers, concentrated oils, chewable forms of cannabis (pills, tablets, capsules) and drops or syrups (tinctures, topicals, transdermals and sublinguals). Cannabis edibles are not yet available.
Now that weed is legal in New Jersey, when and where can you buy it? Here’s what we know.
The first licensed dispensaries will be able to sell recreational marijuana, likely by mid-May.
First, only at medical marijuana dispensaries that are licensed to sell to the public. Medical dispensaries will not be immediately allowed to sell recreational cannabis until approved by New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory Commission (CRC). Since these dispensaries are already in business, the process of getting their business approved to sell recreational weed is much shorter. The new cannabis dispensaries will take a few more months to open.
Medical patients are the priority. Medical marijuana dispensaries must also prove that they have a sufficient supply of products to serve medical patients first, and that there are enough left over to sell for personal use by adults.
Each municipality must also approve it.
To date, 327 new retailers have applied for cannabis licenses in New Jersey.
New Jersey has some of the highest cannabis prices in the country, according to the CRC of the state. In 2021, the price of an ounce of weed in New Jersey ranged from $320 to $480. On the other hand, in Californiait ranges from $99 for “bottom shelf” (lowest quality weed) to $320 for “top shelf” (highest quality weed).
According to the CRC, the supply of cannabis products is increasing every month and prices are decreasing.
Here are the prices you can expect based on weight:
3.5 grams or “eighth” = $35 to $60
7 grams or “quarter” = $70 to $120
28 grams or “ounce” = $320 to $480
Up to 1 ounce (or 28 grams). Adults 21 and older can purchase up to one ounce of cannabis. However, the use or possession of up to six ounces of cannabis – or 17 grams of hashish – is no longer a crime.
So, you can buy up to 1 ounce at a timebut you can have up to 6 ounces of weed in your possession.
You must be at least 21 years old to buy, transport and consume cannabis in New Jersey. Just like buying alcohol, you must be at least 21 years old and have a valid photo ID.
If you are under 21, you cannot enter a marijuana dispensary, even if you are accompanied by an adult legal guardian.