The pricing submission period ends August 31, 2022

New Jersey, August 23, 2022 – On October 6, 2022*, the Corporation for New Jersey Local Media (CNJLM) will host the second annual Byrne Kean Dinner, a gala honoring the best in local and national journalism. The organization’s mission is to build strong communities through local journalism and civic engagement. For the second year, the CNJLM intends to honor three journalists or teams of journalists with the CNJLM Impact Awards.
Stories eligible for nomination must have been published or broadcast between July 1, 2021 and June 30, 2022 by a New Jersey-based news organization. Nominations are open to all types of media including print, digital, broadcast, etc. To be eligible for the Lifetime Impact Award, the individual must have devoted a significant portion of their career to journalism in New Jersey.
These awards will honor New Jersey journalists who have had a significant impact on civic engagement in the state, either by educating the public about political or social issues, or by investigating issues for the general public that they do not wouldn’t have known otherwise.
Three prizes will be awarded:
• Lifetime Achievement in Journalism — this takes into consideration all of an individual’s work over the course of their career.
• Statewide Impact in Journalism — this award recognizes work that has impacted many communities across the state of New Jersey.
• Local Impact in Journalism — this award recognizes work that has had an impact on a specific community.
Nominations will be accepted until next Wednesday, August 31, after which the CNJLM Awards Committee will choose the winners. The awards committee will be made up of three external judges who are not employed by the CNJLM.
These awards are unique in that they are the only ones in the state to consider a wide range of work by an individual journalist. Additionally, the Lifetime Achievement in Journalism Impact Award is New Jersey’s only lifetime achievement award for journalism in the state.
Last year, the inaugural New Jersey Journalism Impact Awards were given to nine journalists who have had a significant impact on local and regional reporting:
• Michael Aron, chief political correspondent for the New Jersey Network and NJTV during a career that spanned eight governors, received the Lifetime Achievement in Journalism award.
• Joe Albright, the nation’s longest-serving Statehouse correspondent who still writes a weekly column for the Jersey Journal, was also honored with a lifetime achievement in journalism award.
• Star-Ledger and’s Sue Livio and Ted Sherman received Statewide Impact in Journalism awards for their investigative reporting and analysis of the reasons behind the devastating spread of Covid-19 in New Jersey nursing homes, killing more than 8,600 residents and staff.
• Star-Ledger and’s Blake Nelson and Joseph Atmonavage received Statewide Impact in Journalism awards for their series of stories that exposed brutal middle-of-the-night assaults by corrections officers against inmates at Edna Mahan Correctional Institute for Women in Hunterdon County.
• Scott Fallon and Lindy Washburn of The Record of Hackensack and received Local Impact in Journalism awards for their investigative reporting on the deadly coronavirus outbreak at Paramus Veterans Home, which had the highest death toll of all veterans facilities in the nation.
• Jennifer Jean Miller received a Local Impact in Journalism award for her reporting for the New Jersey Herald on the discovery of 18 bodies stacked in a makeshift morgue at the Andover Subacute Nursing Facility, which alerted the state and the nation on the extent of the Covid -19 crisis that swept through nursing homes, and for his subsequent interviews with families and staff on how the outbreak was hidden.
Click here to learn more about last year’s New Jersey Journalism Impact Award winners.

• Details:
o Nominations from journalists of color or those who identify as part of a marginalized community will be prioritized.
o Multiple nominations from the same publication are eligible in each category.
o Journalist teams are encouraged to apply; if awarded, each journalist named in the nomination will be honoured.
o Only one prize will be awarded per category.
o Prizes will be awarded at the Byrne Kean Gala, and winners will be invited to attend with a guest.

Click here to submit an application(s).

Corporation for New Jersey Local Media builds strong communities through journalism and civic engagement. The organization seeks to strengthen civic engagement by promoting professional community journalism, fostering public debate on critical issues, and expanding access to educational programs. Learn more at

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)


Comments are closed.